Tsitsipas, Medvedev, Zverev To Join Djokovic In Indian Wells

  • Posted: Sep 09, 2021

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic will bid for a record sixth BNP Paribas Open title when tennis returns to Indian Wells next month. The Serbian joins fellow stars in the Top 4 of the FedEx ATP Rankings – Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Alexander Zverev – as well as a host of past champions and #NextGenATP talents in the field for 2021.

Djokovic is in the midst of one of the most impressive seasons in history, having already claimed the Australian Open, Roland Garros and Wimbledon titles. He currently sits only three wins from completing the Grand Slam at the US Open.

Ash Barty has solidified her status as the WTA World No. 1 with an impressive 2021 season and will arrive with hopes of capturing her maiden Indian Wells title. Having already captured five singles titles this season, including a run to the Wimbledon title, Barty will look to put an exclamation point on her season with a strong performance in the desert.

View Tournament Entry List

An exciting line-up of ATP Top 10 players will join Djokovic in looking to make waves in Tennis Paradise. 2021 Australian Open finalist Medvedev, 2021 Roland Garros finalist Tsitsipas, 2020 US Open finalist and Tokyo Olympic gold medallist Zverev join 2021 Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters finalist Andrey Rublev and 2021 Wimbledon finalist Matteo Berrettini in search of their maiden BNP Paribas Open title this October.

On the women’s side, 2021 Madrid Open champion and defending BNP Paribas Open doubles champion Aryna Sabalenka, 2021 Wimbledon finalist Karolina Pliskova, Tokyo 2020 Olympic bronze medallist Elina Svitolina, 2020 Australian Open champion Sofia Kenin and 2021 Roland Garros champion Barbora Krejcikova will have their sights set on a first Indian Wells title.

Defending Champion Bianca Andreescu will make her long-awaited return to the desert on the heels of a run to the fourth round in New York. In 2019, Andreescu captured the attention of the tennis world by becoming the first women’s wild card to win in Indian Wells. Four other former BNP Paribas Open champions are also entered: Naomi Osaka (2018), Elena Vesnina (2017), Simona Halep (2015), and Victoria Azarenka (2012, 2016).

Making their inaugural appearances at the BNP Paribas Open will #NextGenATP star Carlos Alcaraz, and Leylah Fernandez and Coco Gauff in the women’s field. Alcaraz and Fernandez catapulted onto the scene with historic performances at this year’s US Open, where both defeated Top 10 players to reach the second week in Flushing Meadows.

Gauff will be joined in Indian Wells by other top Americans including John Isner (World No. 22), Reilly Opelka (World No. 24) and Jessica Pegula (World No. 25). The remaining spots in the draws will be filled by the winners of the qualifying event, held from 4-6 October, and wild card recipients, who will be announced in the coming weeks.

Source link