Thiem, Schwartzman Lead Past Champions In Rio; All You Need To Know

  • Posted: Feb 15, 2020

Thiem, Schwartzman Lead Past Champions In Rio; All You Need To Know

Draw, schedule, tickets & more about the 2020 Rio Open presented by Claro

World No. 4 Dominic Thiem returns to action for the first time since his run to the Australian Open final (l. to Djokovic) at the Rio Open presented by Claro. In 2017, Thiem did not drop a set en route to the title at this ATP 500 clay-court tournament (d. Carreno Busta). Last year, he fell to eventual champion Laslo Djere in the first round. 

Djere completed his dream week in Rio with victory over 18-year-old Felix Auger-Aliassime in the final. The Serbian, who soared 53 spots to No. 37 in the FedEx ATP Rankings with his triumph, dedicated the title to his late parents. “I don’t know many tennis players who went through these things. I want to be that guy who inspires others and shows that you can still be successful,” Djere said.

In addition to Thiem and Djere, the 2020 Rio field includes two other former champions: Diego Schwartzman (2018) and Pablo Cuevas (2016). Croatian Borna Coric, Argentine Guido Pella and recent Cordoba Open champion Cristian Garin of Chile also feature.

Here’s all you need to know about Rio de Janeiro tennis tournament: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who won and more. 

Established: 2014

Tournament Dates: 17-23 February 2020

Tournament Director: Luiz Procopio Carvalho

Draw Ceremony: Saturday, 15 February

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox

Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Saturday and Sunday at 4:00pm
* Main draw: Monday – Thursday at 4:30pm and 7:00pm, Friday at 3:00pm
* Doubles final: Saturday, 22 February, third match from 5:00pm
* Singles final: Sunday, 23 February at 5:30pm

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TV 
TV Schedule

Venue: Jockey Club Brasileiro
Main Court Seating: 6,200

Prize Money: US $1,759,905 (Total Financial Commitment: US $1,915,485) 

Tickets On Sale: Buy Now

;Buy tickets for 2020 <a href=''>Rio Open presented by Claro</a>, an ATP 500 tennis tournament in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: 6 players with 1 (Schwartzman, Thiem, Cuevas, Ferrer, Nadal, Djere)
Most Titles, Doubles: Juan Sebastian Cabal, Robert Farah (2)
Oldest Champion: David Ferrer, 32, in 2015
Youngest Champion: Dominic Thiem, 23, in 2017
Highest-Ranked Champion: No. 1 Rafael Nadal in 2014
Lowest-Ranked Champion: No. 90 Laslo Djere in 2019
Most Match Wins: Pablo Cuevas (13) 

2019 Finals
Singles: Laslo Djere (SRB) d [WC] Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN) 63 75   Read & Watch
Doubles: Maximo Gonzalez (ARG) / Nicolas Jarry (CHI) d [WC] Thomaz Bellucci (BRA) / Rogerio Dutra Silva (BRA) 67(3) 63 10-7  Read More 

Hashtag: #RioOpen

Facebook: @rioopenoficial
Twitter: @RioOpenOficial
Instagram: @rioopenoficial
YouTube: @RioOpenOficial

You May Also Like:

ATP Announces Electronic Review Trial On Clay

Did You Know…. A trial of Electronic Review will take place at a select number of clay court events on the ATP Tour for the first time, beginning with the Rio Open presented by Claro. The use of Electronic Review on clay is designed to elevate the accuracy of officiating. During the trial, there will be no limit to the number of challenges players are able to make during matches, ensuring consistency within the tournament for players competing on show courts with the review technology as well as on outside courts where standard ball mark inspection protocols will apply.

Source link