Nadal Earns Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: 'I Can't Be Happier'

  • Posted: Dec 17, 2021

Rafael Nadal has been selected by fellow players as the winner of the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award for the fourth straight year in the 2021 ATP Awards. The 35-year-old has now received this honour five times, first triumphing in 2010.

The award recognises the Spaniard’s fair play, professionalism and integrity on and off the court.

All ATP Awards Winners

“I can’t be happier to receive one more time the Sportsmanship Award from my colleagues on the Tour,” Nadal said. “It means a lot to me, so thanks a lot to every player that thinks that I am the right one to receive this award.

“Honestly, it means a lot to me because I try to be always correct on court. Thanks for believing in me and I wish all the very best for the 2022 season to all my colleagues on the Tour and I hope to see you soon.”


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by ATP Tour (@atptour)

The Spaniard has won an ATP Award in each of the player-voted categories: Newcomer (2003), Most Improved (2005), Comeback (2013) and Sportsmanship (2010, 2018-2021). He was also named Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year in 2011 and crowned ATP No. 1 presented by FedEx five times (2008, 2010, 2013, 2017, 2019).

Nadal won titles on clay in Barcelona and Rome this year and reached the semi-finals at Roland Garros, before concluding his season in August due to injury. The 35-year-old finished at No. 6 in the FedEx ATP Rankings, his 17th straight season in the year-end Top 10, breaking the record he previously shared with Jimmy Connors. 

Source link