Murray-Led Great Britain, Djokovic's Serbia Headline Davis Cup Finals Group Stage

  • Posted: Sep 12, 2023

Murray-Led Great Britain, Djokovic’s Serbia Headline Davis Cup Finals Group Stage

Wawrinka, Tiafoe among players in action

This week 16 countries will compete in the Davis Cup Finals Group Stage from Tuesday through Sunday in the hopes of reaching the Final 8 in November in Malaga.

The countries will compete across four groups in four cities — Group A in Bologna, Group B in Manchester, Group C in Valencia and Group D in Split — with the top two countries per group to qualify for the knockout stage in two months.

In Group A, defending champion Canada, Italy, Chile and Sweden will square off. Notable players in action include Denis Shapovalov for Canada, Lorenzo Musetti for Italy and Nicolas Jarry for Chile.

Group B is full of stars, with Cameron Norrie, Daniel Evans and Andy Murray leading the way for Great Britain and Stan Wawrinka on the Swiss side, which also includes Dominic Stricker, the man who upset Stefanos Tsitsdipas at Flushing Meadows. Alex de Minaur and Thanasi Kokkinakis are competing for Australia.

US Open champion Novak Djokovic headlines Group C as he leads Serbia. Also in the group will be 2022 Next Gen ATP Finals runner-up Jiri Lehecka, the Czech who made this year’s Australian Open quarter-finals.

Frances Tiafoe and Tommy Paul will try to send the United States to the Final 8 with a good performance in Group D, where Borna Coric will lead the home Croatian side. 

Group A – Bologna: Canada, Chile, Italy, Sweden

Group B – Manchester: Australia, France, Great Britain, Switzerland

Group C – Valencia: Czech Republic, Serbia, South Korea, Spain

Group D – Split: Croatia, Finland, Netherlands, United States

Two countries from each group will advance to the Final 8.

Source link