Ivanisevic The Fan Favourite In Hall Of Fame Voting

  • Posted: Oct 03, 2019

Ivanisevic The Fan Favourite In Hall Of Fame Voting

Croatian one of four nominees for the 2020 Hall of Fame class

Croatia’s Goran Ivanisevic is a little bit closer to making the International Tennis Hall of Fame next July. The 2001 Wimbledon champion received the most fan votes during a recent five-week voting period that drew interest from fans in more than 120 countries.

Ivanisevic finished in first place, followed by 1994 Wimbledon champion Conchita Martinez of Spain, Sweden’s Jonas Bjorkman, winner of nine major doubles titles and former doubles World No. 1, and Spain’s Sergi Bruguera, back-to-back Roland Garros champion. This year marks the second time that the International Tennis Hall of Fame has incorporated a fan vote into its induction process.

You May Also Like: Ivanisevic, Bruguera, Bjorkman Named To 2020 Hall Of Fame Ballot

“In today’s digital world, sports fans are more knowledgeable and connected to athletes than ever before. It makes sense to give them a voice in determining who will be the recipients of tennis’ ultimate honour. With votes coming in from more than 120 countries around the world, we’re glad to see that so many tennis fans have embraced fan voting as a means to engage with tennis history and stay connected with tennis greats beyond their playing days,” said Todd Martin, CEO of the International Tennis Hall of Fame.

Nominees are determined by a combination of the results of the votes from the official voting group, comprised of journalists, historians, and Hall of Famers, as well as bonus points earned through the fan vote. To be inducted, a candidate must receive 75 per cent or more affirmative votes from the combined results of the official voting group and fan vote bonuses.

Ivanisevic will receive three bonus percentage points, Martínez two and Bjorkman one. Once the official voting group results and fan vote bonuses are compiled, the International Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2020 will be officially announced during the Australian Open in January.

Source link