Groups Announced For 2022 ATP Cup, Field Features 18 Top 20 Players

  • Posted: Dec 07, 2021

The 16 countries set to compete in the third edition of the ATP Cup, which will feature 18 of the Top 20 players in the FedEx ATP Rankings, were assigned to four groups at the official tournament draw on Tuesday in Australia. The team event will take place in Sydney from 1-9 January 2022.

Top seed Serbia, headlined by World No. 1 Novak Djokovic, will lead Group A, which will also features Norway, Chile and Spain. Two years ago, Serbia lifted the trophy at the inaugural ATP Cup by defeating Spain in the championship match.

Second seed Russia, the defending champion, is in Group B, which includes Italy, Austria and home nation Australia. World No. 2 Daniil Medvedev and World No. 5 Andrey Rublev will be their country’s top two singles players for the second consecutive year.

Germany, led by reigning Nitto ATP Finals champion Alexander Zverev, headlines Group C along with Canada, Great Britain and the United States. Fourth seed Greece, with Stefanos Tsitsipas atop the lineup, will be in Group D, which also consists of Poland, Argentina and Georgia.

Photo Credit: Jaimi Chisholm/Getty Images
ATP Chief Tour Officer Ross Hutchins said: “There’s no better place for us to launch the 2022 season than with the ATP Cup in Sydney. The players have loved competing at this event in recent years and the 2022 player field speaks for itself. We’re delighted that fans will be able to see so many of the world’s best representing their countries in the opening week of the season and we look forward to a fantastic event.”

ATP Cup Tournament Director Tom Larner said: “We’re excited to host the third edition of the ATP Cup in Sydney in 2022. The playing group enjoy representing their countries and to see 18 of the world’s Top 20 players commit to the event is testament to that. The event shows off the passion the playing group have for this format and we look forward to welcoming all 16 teams to Sydney later this month.”

The draw was conducted in the ATP Cup studio by Australian legends Mark Philippoussis and John Fitzgerald.

This year’s nine-day event will be played in Sydney at Ken Rosewall Arena and Qudos Bank Arena. Following the group stage, the four group winners will advance to the knock-out semi-finals to compete for the trophy. Alongside the event in Week One, there will be ATP 250 events in Adelaide and Melbourne. 

Each country at the 2022 ATP Cup will field a team of up to five players, with each tie comprising two singles matches and one doubles match. The No. 2 singles players compete against each other before the No. 1 singles, followed by doubles.

Tickets for the ATP Cup will go on sale via on Friday 10 December. The schedule will be released tomorrow.

Follow the latest ATP Cup news and live updates at and on Twitter and Instagram.


Novak Djokovic
 Dusan Lajovic
 Filip Krajinovic
 Nikola Cacic
 Matej Sabanov
Great Britain
Cameron Norrie
Daniel Evans
Liam Broady
Joe Salisbury
Jamie Murray 
 Daniil Medvedev
 Andrey Rublev
 Aslan Karatsev
 Roman Safiullin
Evgeny Donskoy 
Diego Schwartzman
Federico Delbonis
Federico Coria
Maximo Gonzalez
Andres Molteni 
 Alexander Zverev
 Jan-Lennard Struff
 Yannick Hanfmann
 Kevin Krawietz
 Tim Puetz
Dominic Thiem
Dennis Novak
Lucas Miedler
Oliver Marach
Philipp Oswald 
 Stefanos Tsitsipas
 Michail Pervolorakis
 Petros Tsitsipas
 Markos Kalovelonis
 Aristotelis Thanos
Cristian Garin
Alejandro Tabilo
Tomas Barrios Vers


 Matteo Berrettini
 Jannik Sinner
 Lorenzo Sonego
 Simone Bolelli
 Fabio Fognini 

Roberto Bautista Agut
Pablo Carreno Busta
Albert Ramos-Vinolas
Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
Pedro Martinez 
 Casper Ruud
 Viktor Durasovic
 Lukas Hellum-Lilleengen
 Leyton Rivera
 Andreja Petrovic
Nikoloz Basilashvili
Aleksandre Metreveli
Aleksandre Bakshi
Zura Tkemaladze
Saba Purtseladze 
 Hubert Hurkacz
 Kamil Majchrzak
 Kacper Zuk
 Jan Zielinski
 Szymon Walkow

United States
Taylor Fritz
John Isner
Brandon Nakashima
Rajeev Ram
Austin Krajicek

 Felix Auger-Aliassime
 Denis Shapovalov
 Brayden Schnur
 Peter Polansky
 Steven Diez

Australia (WC)
Alex de Minaur
James Duckworth
Max Purcell
John Peers
Luke Saville

Source link