Garcia & Mladenovic: WTA Doubles Team Of The Year

  • Posted: Jan 01, 1970

SINGAPORE – Caroline Garcia and Kristina Mladenovic have been named 2016 WTA Doubles Team Of The Year.

The pair won their first-ever Grand Slam title in 2016 at Roland Garros, the first all-French team to reach the French Open doubles final since 1971. They also reached the final of the US Open and the Wimbledon quarterfinal.

They duo enjoyed success on clay all year, winning the Volvo Cars Open in Charleston, Porsche Tennis Grand Prix and Mutua Madrid Open. Garcia and Mladenovic were also four-time finalists on hard courts as they finished as runners-up at Apia International Sydney, Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships, US Open, and China Open.

The French doubles pair will be the top seed in the doubles competition at the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global, where they will have a chance to claim the 2016 Year-End World No.1 Doubles Ranking, presented by Dubai Duty Free.

In a tight field, they finished with 20 points ahead of Lucie Safarova and Bethanie Mattek-Sands, who got 17, Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza on eight, while Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina got four.

WTA Doubles Team Of The Year Winners
2016: Caroline Garcia / Kristina Mladenovic
2015: Martina Hingis / Sania Mirza
2014: Sara Errani / Roberta Vinci
2013: Sara Errani / Roberta Vinci
Sara Errani / Roberta Vinci
Kveta Peschke / Katarina Srebotnik
Gisela Dulko / Flavia Pennetta
Serena Williams / Venus Williams
Cara Black / Liezel Huber
Cara Black / Liezel Huber
Lisa Raymond / Sam Stosur
Lisa Raymond / Sam Stosur

Complete listing of the historical WTA Awards.


Source link