Felix Upsets World No. 1 Alcaraz In Davis Cup Action

  • Posted: Sep 16, 2022

Felix Upsets World No. 1 Alcaraz In Davis Cup Action

Berrettini and Sinner lead Italy past Argentina

Felix Auger-Aliassime earned one of the biggest wins of his career on Friday when he defeated new World No. 1 Carlos Alcaraz 6-7(3), 6-4, 6-2 in Davis Cup action.

The World No. 13 saved all seven break points he faced to level Canada’s tie against Spain at 1-1 after two hours and 50 minutes. Auger-Aliassime took the initiative in the match to put the recent US Open champion on the back foot, especially in the critical moments.

This was Alcaraz’s first match as the No. 1 player in the Pepperstone ATP Rankings. The 19-year-old fought valiantly, but was unable to close out the tie.

Roberto Bautista Agut had made a good start for Spain when he rallied past Vasek Pospisil 3-6, 6-3, 6-3. There will be a deciding doubles match in Valencia.

ATP WTA LIVE | Follow the Pepperstone ATP Race To Turin In Real Time

Berrettini & Sinner Power Italy Past Argentina
Matteo Berrettini and Jannik Sinner, both of whom competed in the 2021 Nitto ATP Finals, showed their strength on Friday to help Italy defeat Argentina.

Berrettini powered past Sebastian Baez 6-2, 6-3 to give Italy the advantage before Sinner took the court in Bologna, where he delivered a 7-5, 1-6, 6-3 victory against Miami semi-finalist Francisco Cerundolo.

Germany Squeaks By Belgium
The Belgians put forth a commendable effort, but Germany moved to 2-0 in Group C action with a 2-1 win in their tie. Kevin Krawietz and Tim Puetz sealed their country’s triumph with a 4-6, 6-2, 7-6(5) victory against Sander Gille and Joran Vliegen.

German Jan-Lennard Struff claimed the opening rubber against Zizou Bergs 6-4, 7-6(9) to put his country in a winning position before 2017 Nitto ATP Finals runner-up David Goffin clawed past Oscar Otte 3-6, 7-6(7), 6-3 to set the deciding doubles.

What is the format for the 2022 Davis Cup Finals?
The group stage of the 2022 Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals will take place across four cities – Bologna, Glasgow, Hamburg and Valencia – from 13-18 September. The 16 nations will compete in four round-robin groups of four teams. The top two teams in each group will advance to the knock-out stage. The knock-out stage will take place in Malaga from 22-27 November.

Source link