Djokovic, Nadal Headline 2022 Australian Open Entry List

  • Posted: Dec 08, 2021

Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal headline the entry list for the 2022 Australian Open, it was revealed by tournament organisers on Wednesday.

Djokovic will pursue a record-extending 10th trophy at the season’s first major, where he owns an 82-8 record. The Serbian has won the past three titles at the event and nine of the past 14.

Nadal has not played since the Citi Open in August due to a foot injury, but the Spaniard will try to claim a second victory at the Australian Open (2009). The lefty has advanced to the final in three of the past eight editions.

Another player poised to return from injury is Dominic Thiem, who has not played since Mallorca in June due to a right wrist injury. The Austrian has enjoyed success in Melbourne, where he made the championship match in 2020.

Nineteen of the Top 20 players in the FedEx ATP Rankings are entered, with the only exception being six-time champion Roger Federer, who is still recovering from right knee surgery. Fellow Swiss star Stan Wawrinka, the 2014 Australian Open winner, is also not on the list.

Other players to watch include reigning US Open champion Daniil Medvedev, two-time Nitto ATP Finals winner Alexander Zverev, 2019 Nitto ATP Finals titlist Stefanos Tsitsipas and World No. 5 Andrey Rublev.

Source link