Davis Cup Final Eight Teams Announced

  • Posted: Oct 23, 2023

Davis Cup Final Eight Teams Announced

Top 5 stars Djokovic, Sinner to lead Serbia, Italy respectively

The last nations standing in the 2023 Davis Cup have announced their teams for the Final 8 knock-out stage in Malaga, Spain next month, with some of the game’s biggest stars set to do battle for the right to be named 2023 world champions.

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic will lead a Serbia team bidding to win a second Davis Cup title, while Jannik Sinner (Italy), Alex de Minaur (Australia) and Cameron Norrie (Great Britain) will also feature in the event at the Palacio de Deportes José María Martín Carpena.

Defending world champions Canada have restored world No. 19 Felix Auger-Aliassime to their team alongside Gabriel Diallo, Alexis Galarneau and Vasek Pospisil, who starred as the Canadians finished top of Group A in Bologna in September. Former Wimbledon runner-up Milos Raonic has also been named in the Canadian squad and could make his first Davis Cup appearance since 2018, having battled various injuries in recent seasons.

The Canadians will contest the opening tie of the week on Tuesday 21 November against first-time Davis Cup quarter-finalists Finland, who have named the same squad which finished runner-up to Netherlands in Group D in Split last month. World No. 67 Emil Ruusuvuori, who has won five of his six Davis Cup matches this season, will lead the Finnish team in Malaga.

The second quarter-final on Wednesday 22 November will see 2022 runners-up Australia take on the Czech Republic, both of whom have named unchanged teams from September’s Finals Group Stage and are led by De Minaur and Jiri Lehecka, respectively.

World No. 4 Sinner will return to Davis Cup action for Italy’s quarter-final clash against Netherlands on Thursday 23 November, after the 22-year-old missed the Finals Group Stage due to injury. The Dutch team is spearheaded by world No. 25 Tallon Griekspoor, with doubles world No. 3 Wesley Koolhof also in captain Paul Haarhuis’ squad.

The last of the four quarter-finals on the evening of Thursday 23 November will feature 24-time Grand Slam champion Djokovic alongside teammates Laslo Djere, Dusan Lajovic, Miomir Kecmanovic and Hamad Medjedovic. The Serbians are captained by Viktor Troicki, who, along with Djokovic, was a member of the team which won Serbia’s only Davis Cup title to date in 2010.

Serbia will take on Great Britain, who will be hoping to continue the momentum from their dramatic victory over France which saw them secure first place in Group B in Manchester last month. Norrie is the Brits’ highest-ranked player, but the team also includes Daniel Evans (who won both matches he played during the win against France) and three-time Grand Slam winner Andy Murray, as well as 21-year-old Jack Draper and doubles world No. 4 Neal Skupski.

The Davis Cup quarter-finals will be played from Tuesday 21 to Thursday 23 November. The semi-finals will be played on Friday 24 and Saturday 25 November, with the 2023 Davis Cup final taking place on Sunday 26 November.

For more information about the Final 8 in Malaga, including ticket details, visit the Davis Cup website.

2023 Davis Cup Final 8 schedule

Tuesday 21 November, 1600 CET – Canada v Finland
Wednesday 22 November, 1600 CET – Czech Republic v Australia
Thursday 23 November, 1000 CET – Italy v Netherlands
Thursday 23 November, not before 1600 CET – Serbia v Great Britain

Friday 24 November, 1600 CET – Canada or Finland v Czech Republic or Australia
Saturday 25 November, 1200 CET – Italy or Netherlands v Serbia or Great Britain

Davis Cup final
Sunday 26 November, 1600 CET – Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2

2023 Davis Cup Final 8 squads

Felix Auger-Aliassime
Gabriel Diallo
Alexis Galarneau
Vasek Pospisil
Milos Raonic
Captain: Frank Dancevic

Emil Ruusuvuori
Otto Virtanen
Patrick Kaukovalta
Harri Heliovaara
Patrik Niklas-Salminen
Captain: Jarkko Nieminen

Czech Republic
Jiri Lehecka
Tomas Machac
Jakub Mensik
Adam Pavlasek
Captain: Jaroslav Navratil

Alex de Minaur
Max Purcell
Jordan Thompson
Thanasi Kokkinakis
Matthew Ebden
Captain: Lleyton Hewitt

Jannik Sinner
Lorenzo Musetti
Matteo Arnaldi
Lorenzo Sonego
Simone Bolelli
Captain: Filippo Volandri

Tallon Griekspoor
Botic van de Zandschulp
Gijs Brouwer
Wesley Koolhof
Captain: Paul Haarhuis

Novak Djokovic
Laslo Djere
Dusan Lajovic
Miomir Kecmanovic
Hamad Medjedovic
Captain: Viktor Troicki

Great Britain
Cameron Norrie
Daniel Evans
Andy Murray
Jack Draper
Neal Skupski
Captain: Leon Smith

The Davis Cup Finals and Qualifiers are an official part of the ATP Tour calendar, after the ITF and ATP established a new strategic collaboration on the competition’s governance in 2022. 

The 2023 Davis Cup Final 8 is being hosted in Malaga as part of a wider partnership between the ITF and region of Andalucia, which also sees the Billie Jean King Cup by Gainbridge Finals in Seville (7-12 November) and the junior finals of both competitions in Cordoba (30 October-12 November).

Follow @DavisCup on Twitter and Instagram, and Davis Cup Tennis on Facebook for the latest updates on the men’s World Cup of Tennis.

Source link