Tennis News

From around the world

Doubles Field Set For Singapore

Doubles Field Set For Singapore

  • Posted: Jan 01, 1970

The doubles field for the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global is now set after events in Beijing saw the final four qualifying berths decided on Wednesday.

Defeat for Sania Mirza and Barbora Strycova in the Chinese capital confirmed that Timea Babos and Yaroslava Shvedova, Chan Hao-Ching and Chan Yung-Jan, Andrea Hlavackova and Lucie Hradecka, and Julia Goerges and Karolina Pliskova will all be heading to Singapore for the season finale.

The four join earlier qualifiers Caroline Garcia and Kristina Mladenovic, Martina Hingis and Mirza, Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina, and Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie Safarova in the eight-team knockout draw.

There is a wealth of experience amongst the final batch of qualifiers, with only Goerges and Pliskova making their Singapore debut. Two-time major winners Hlavackova and Hradecka were runners-up at the Finals in 2012, before reaching the semifinals on their return in 2015. The Chan sisters were also semifinalists 12 months ago, while Babos and Shvedova, have also qualified in the past, albeit with other partners.

Lucie Hradecka, Andrea Hlavackova

The current Road to Singapore leaderboard as follows (as of October 3, 2016):











WTA Finals: Get Your Tickets!

Source link