Bopanna Hailed For Memorable Act Of Sportsmanship

  • Posted: Sep 08, 2023

Bopanna Hailed For Memorable Act Of Sportsmanship

Indian shows high character during US Open final defeat

Rohan Bopanna and Matthew Ebden fell short in the US Open men’s doubles final on Friday against Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury, but Bopanna earned plenty of respect for a memorable act of sportsmanship.

At 2-4 in the final set, Eden hit a forehand that grazed the Indian’s right arm. The chair umpire did not notice the touch, but Bopanna called it on himself, forfeiting the point.

“When Matt hit that forehand crosscourt, the ball hit my elbow. I don’t think anybody really saw it, So I claimed it on myself,” Bopanna said. “That’s the person I have been through my career, and I really feel if something — it doesn’t matter what the scoreline or what the occasion of the match is — if something was not right, it was not right.

“Straightaway I went and told the referee that the ball had touched. I think she was confused too at what is happening.”

You May Also Like:

Ram/Salisbury Seal Historic US Open Hat-Trick

Ebden added: “The only one in the stadium who saw it hit you was me. Because I was right behind you, so I saw it deviate off you slightly.”

During the trophy ceremony after the match, Ram made a point of calling out Bopanna’s sportsmanship.

“Rohan and I are real close and that act of sportsmanship today, what he did out on the court. We have been playing for the better part of 20, 25 years on Tour together and I have never seen anything like that,” Ram said. “Especially in a moment like that because we would have had no idea. It just shows what kind of guy he is and how deserving he is to at this point in his career playing for these kinds of titles. You are an inspiration to all of us.”

Source link