Bautista Agut Gives Spain Winning Start In Davis Cup Finals

  • Posted: Sep 14, 2022

Bautista Agut Gives Spain Winning Start In Davis Cup Finals

Berrettini & Musetti deliver for Italy against Croatia

Roberto Bautista Agut ensured Spain made a winning start to its Group B campaign on Wednesday in Valencia. The World No. 21 struck 37 winners en route to a 7-6(5), 7-6(5) victory against Miomir Kecmanovic to give Spain a 2-0 lead against Serbia.

In the first match of the tie, Spaniard Albert Ramos-Vinolas clawed past Laslo Djere 2-6, 7-6(5), 7-5 in two hours and 57 minutes. With his win, the 34-year-old has levelled his ATP Head2Head series against two-time tour-level titlist Djere at 2-2.

View Davis Cup Live Scores

ATP WTA LIVE | Follow the Pepperstone ATP Race To Turin In Real Time

Italy Sweeps Past Croatia
Matteo Berrettini rallied past Croatian Borna Coric 6-7(4), 6-2, 6-1 to secure Italy victory in Group A in Bologna.

The 26-year-old fired 15 aces to triumph after two hours and 24 minutes, handing Italy an unassailable 2-0 lead in the tie against Croatia. #NextGenATP star Lorenzo Musetti downed Borna Gojo 6-4, 6-2 in 86 minutes in the first match.

Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini completed a clean sweep for the Italians with a 3-6, 7-5, 7-6(3) win against Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic.

Krawietz/Puetz Deliver For Germany
Kevin Krawietz and Tim Puetz defeated Nicolas Mahut and Arthur Rinderknech 6-2, 3-6, 7-6(1) in the deciding doubles rubber to earn Germany a 2-1 win against France in Hamburg.

Jan-Lennard Struff battled past Benjamin Bonzi 6-4, 2-6, 7-5 in two hours and 16 minutes to give Germany a 1-0 lead in the Group C tie. Adrian Mannarino then drew the French level, cruising past Oscar Otte 6-4, 6-3 in their first ATP Head2Head meeting.

What is the format for the 2022 Davis Cup Finals?
The group stage of the 2022 Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals will take place across four cities – Bologna, Glasgow, Hamburg and Valencia – from 13-18 September. The 16 nations will compete in four round-robin groups of four teams. The top two teams in each group will advance to the knock-out stage. The knock-out stage will take place in Malaga from 22-27 November.

Source link