Alcaraz, Djokovic Headline Wimbledon Seeds, Kyrgios Sneaks In

  • Posted: Jun 28, 2023

Alcaraz, Djokovic Headline Wimbledon Seeds, Kyrgios Sneaks In

2022 finalist Kyrgios will be the 31st seed

Tournament organisers at Wimbledon announced on Wednesday the seeds for the 2023 edition of The Championships, headlined by first seed Carlos Alcaraz and second seed Novak Djokovic.

From 2002-2019, Wimbledon used a seeding formula that took into account players’ success on grass. But starting from the 2021 edition (no tournament in 2020), organisers reverted to using the Pepperstone ATP Rankings.

Alcaraz will be the top seed at the second consecutive major after leading the way at Roland Garros, where he lost in the semi-finals to Djokovic. The Serbian over the coming fortnight will try to tie Roger Federer’s record by claiming his eighth Wimbledon title.

You May Also Like:

Five Incredible Djokovic Facts Entering Wimbledon

Rounding out the Top 8 seeds are third seed Daniil Medvedev, fourth seed Casper Ruud, fifth seed Stefanos Tsitsipas, sixth seed Holger Rune, seventh seed Andrey Rublev and eighth seed Jannik Sinner.

Nick Kyrgios, the Australian who reached last year’s Wimbledon final, is World No. 33 in this week’s Pepperstone ATP Rankings. However, due to the withdrawal of Karen Khachanov and Pablo Carreno Busta, who would have been seeded, Kyrgios is the 31st seed. 

The last player to be seeded is 32nd seed Alejandro Davidovich Fokina. If there is a withdrawal among the seeds before Friday’s draw, Ben Shelton is next in line to be seeded.

Source link